Senior students from all areas of Wairarapa College walked across the stage to have their hard-earned successes and achievements celebrated by the college community.

Subject placings, sporting and cultural awards, along with outstanding leadership and service to the college, were acknowledged at the annual senior prizegiving.

‘There was lots to celebrate,’ says Principal Shelley Power, ‘So many of our students have excelled again.’

‘Prizegiving is a great event and we are grateful for the support of the community,’ she says,’ We were very pleased to have the presence of our Kapa Haka group and the wonderful entertainment from our many talented musicians.’

Wairarapa College’s 2017 Dux is Shanti Patel Cornish with James Robertson receiving Proxime Accessit. Next year Shanti is attending the Auckland University of Technology to study physiotherapy and James is joining the New Zealand Army. Year 12 Top Scholar is Olivia Gardiner and Year 11 Top Scholar is Brooke Robertson. Winners of the highest sporting trophies, the Challenge Cup and the Holmwood Cup, were Year 13 athletes Abbie Sawkins and Sam Smith, who both represented New Zealand this year; Abbie in canoe polo and Sam in rugby. Year 11 Katia MacKenzie won the PTA Trophy for outstanding achievement in a non-school sport award for her achievements in power lifting which include placing 1st in the National Power Lifting Champs, breaking 4 National records in the process.

In the cultural domain of the school Cheviot Fraser received the PTA Prize for Performance Music, Daniel Lelievre the Niklas Mattsson Cup for Greatest Contribution to School Music and PTA Prize for Composition, Tommy Martin the Olive Sutherland Baton for Contribution to Arts in School and Community and the Hodge Family Trophy for Excellent Vocal Performance and Molly O’Hagan received theCultural Council Trophy for the Greatest Contribution to the Arts over three Years and the Annette MacKenzie Cup for Contribution to School Choral Music.

Each year a number of awards are given to students for their involvement and leadership in the college over a number of years. The Buick Family Trophy for involvement and commitment to all aspects of college life went to Briar Begg, Molly O’Hagan received the McConnell Award while Isaac Bracewell received the 22nd Battalion Award for showing qualities of leadership, diligence, initiative and community spirit. For All Round Contribution to College Life, Daniel Lelievre received the Drummond Chesterman Cup and Jess Forbes the Ronaldson Cup.

The 2018 leaders were also announced with Lizzie Bysouth being named Head Girl and Head Boy Mikael Starzynski with deputies Isabella Sinnema and Dylan Major. Pōto College House 2018 leaders will be Camryn Scott and Edward Frost-Henry with Brooke Colton and Aidan Laing their deputies.

The evening began with the Wairarapa College kapa haka welcoming guests with a karanga and haka and throughout the prizegiving the college orchestra, jazz band Mojo, a guitar duet and choir Cantate performed. The Year 13 music class also performed together and the Pasifika percussion ensemble Hit concluded the evening.

At each year level teachers were asked to identify their students who consistently demonstrated the LEAD qualities of Learn with Purpose, Engage with Pride, Act with Respect and Dare to Succeed. Students identified in 5-6 subjects were then rewarded with LEAD Silver and Gold awards as part of prizegiving.